SportsJuana is your ultimate home for the latest news, in-depth analysis with an abundant variety that leaves you hungry for interesting and path-breaking content.

De Villiers
BBL Cricket Latest

BBL 2019/20: De Villiers leads list of exciting overseas signings

De Villiers

The Big Bash League (BBL) has always been popular for exciting cricket and jaw-dropping action on display. Fans enjoy an opportunity to witness some of the best talent, with entertaining gameplay at every stage. Who can forget the iconic ‘Bash Brothers’ Brendon McCullum and Chris Lynn. The smile they brought with their fearless display, made the league a fan’s delight. Sadly, the former’s recent retirement has brought an end to this fabulous partnership, sparking a wave of dismay. However, fans now have an opportunity to witness Mr 360 AB de Villiers in action. The Proteas cricketer has signed up for the Brisbane Heat, and is certainly the biggest signing of the season.

With fellow countryman Dale Steyn in action as well, one is already excited at the prospect of watching them battle it out against the best of opponents. However, there are several other enthralling players to watch out for. One prime example would be teen sensation Tom Banton, who represents Somerset in the T20 Blast. The Englishman has been signed by Brisbane Heat for this edition of the Big Bash League (BBL). Other exciting players to watch out for are Proteas batsman David Miller, English pacer Pat Brown.

Overseas Signings for each side:

Melbourne Stars: Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal), Dale Steyn (South Africa – first six matches), Pat Brown (England – expected from January 8).

Perth Scorchers: Liam Livingstone (England), Chris Jordan (England).

Hobart Hurricanes: Qais Ahmed (Afghanistan), David Miller (South Africa).

Melbourne Renegades: Harry Gurney (England), Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan), Richard Gleeson (England – first eight games).

Adelaide Strikers: Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Phil Salt (England).

Brisbane Heat: Tom Banton (England – first eight games), AB de Villiers (South Africa – expected from January 9), Zahir Khan (Afghanistan), Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Afghanistan).

Sydney Sixers: Tom Curran (England), James Vince (England).

Sydney Thunder: Alex Hales (England), Chris Morris (South Africa).

Written By: Karthik Rao.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *